Blythewood High School - 2019 Summer Tournament


Blythewood High School - 2019 Summer Tournament

Saturday, June 8, 2019 to Tuesday, August 20, 2019
| Fishing Tournament
Sun Fish

William Dennis Ely, Jr
Blythewood High School
Cell: (803) 592-0204


Need Help? Contact Us

2019 Blythewood High School
Summer Tournament

This is our 2nd online tournament. Sign-up to fish the first annual BHS Summer Fishing Tournament. We will use the rules I sent out earlier in the year. Remember just because you don't have a Kayak doesn't mean you can't participate. Any non-powered watercraft can be used. Jon boat, Kayak, Canoe, & SUPs are all allowed.

1st place wins $25.00 gift card
2nd place wins $10.00 gift card
3rd place wins free cookies from Mr. Ely.

You must sign a liability waiver. Under 18 years of age need a parent’s signature or they will not be allowed to compete.

Series: Blythewood High School Fishing Club

$2 USD
Individual Angler

Any Lake, Pond, or River in SC

Tournament is over



Events & Schedule

Lines in the Water

06/08/2019 05:00 AM

Lines out of the Water

08/21/2019 12:00 AM



William Dennis Ely


Rules and RegulationsClick to Read


Blythewood High School Kayak Bass Fishing Club Rules

  • You must sign a liability waiver. Under 18 years of age need a parent’s signature or they will not be allowed to compete.
  • You must be present at CHECK OUT to be eligible for points, prizes, or cash, unless an emergency comes up. (This will be determined by the Director.)
  • You must launch at the appropriate ramps during a tournament. Failure to do so will result in DQ.
  • During Multi Launch events, your first picture must be of yourself at the Lake Ramp Sign, holding your complete identifier. No picture will result in a DQ.
  • During Multi Launch events you may launch at one of the open ramps, and take out at another OF THE OPEN RAMPS.
  • All state laws and any regulations specific to the body of water we are fishing must be followed, including PFD rules, whistle rules, and light rules. Fishing in areas deemed off limits or not having a valid fishing license will result in disqualification. SC AND NC WATERS WILL BE FISHED
  • North Carolina:

    North Carolina requires anyone younger than 13 to wear an appropriate life vest when on a recreational vessel that is underway. Anyone riding a personal watercraft or being towed by one must also wear an appropriate life vest.

    Both state and federal regulations require that a Type I, II or III personal flotation device in good condition and of appropriate size be accessible for each person onboard a recreational vessel, including canoes, kayaks, rowboats and other non-motorized craft. (Sailboards, racing shells, rowing sculls, racing canoes and racing kayaks are exempt from this requirement.)

    “Accidents can happen quickly and without warning,” said Major Chris Huebner of the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission and the state's boating safety coordinator. “In those situations, there often isn’t time to grab a life vest and put it on properly before you are in the water. The best preparation is to wear it whenever you are underway. A life vest can be a life saver when it’s worn. It also gives you the ability to assist others who may be in danger.”

  • South Carolina:

    All boats must have a US Coast Guard approved wearable type PFD for each person on board or being towed. Each PFD must be in good condition, readily available and the proper size for the intended wearer. In addition, boats 16 feet in length or longer must carry a Type IV throwable device. In South Carolina, any person under twelve years of age must wear a US Coast Guard approved Type I, II, III, or V PFD when on board a class “A” (less than 16 ft. long) boat

  • I encourage you to wear your PFD at all times.
  • 4 fish limit. 8 inch minimum. (Largemouth Bass and Spotted Bass and Smallmouth bass. Fish must be caught during tournament times, and in the lake we are fishing, which will be stated prior to the event. If found you caught fish prior to the event, and turned them in for scoring, you will be Disqualified and banned from BHSKBF.
  • Only paddle or pedal powered kayak, Jon Boat, SUPs or canoe allowed. Blue Sky is legal. No electric motors or sails permitted. If any motor or sail is used, you will be disqualified.
  • No Towing, unless injury, handicap, or loss of paddle/drive system. Towing without these reasons will result in a disqualification of all anglers involved.
  • No live bait permitted, artificial only. If live bait is used, you will be disqualified.
  • No more than two lines in the water at one time. Trolling is permitted. More than 2 lines in the water will result in a disqualification.
  • Each angler must catch and land their fish inside their kayak without assistance. No wade or bank fishing. If caught wade fishing, or receiving assistance, you will be disqualified. You must be in your kayak when taking your picture and your kayak must be in the picture.
  • Fish caught within ½” of each other will need to have distinct characteristics that prove they are not the same fish, to be scored. TD will make the final decision.
  • Fish will be measured to the nearest ¼ inch, last touched line. If the fish in laying in-between lines, judge’s discretion will be used, but extra length should not be expected.
  • ENTIRE fish must be visible in the picture. If the head or tail is cut off, fish will not be scored.
  • Your identifier must be present in the picture. No identifier, No fish!! TD must be able to distinguish the identifier was given that day if only partial is showing.
  • Any picture of a fish with your hand or identifier under the gill plate will not be scored.
  • The only restraining device allowed is a clip. No bands, tie downs, etc.
  • The left eye of the fish must be in the photograph or the fish will not be scored.
  • If the HAWG Trough measuring device is not used, photos will not be judged.
  • If the fish is not touching the bump on the board, a minimum of 1 inch penalty will be given, and any further penalty is at the judge’s discretion.
  • If the tail is flipped up in the picture, the TD will make the ruling on the last touched line on the board.
  • All bass are to be released before tournament’s ending time. If you are found keeping black bass species after tournament times, you will receive a disqualification.
  • A deduction of 2” if you are late to check-in. Another 2 inches deducted at the 5-9:59 min late mark. Another 2in deducted at the 10-14:59 minute mark. No photographs accepted after 15 minutes late. If you are late, at all, you will be automatically disqualified from side pots such as big bass, small bass, team event, etc.
  • Tournaments start and end times will vary and will be announced prior to the event.
  • Mouth must be closed with fish facing left. The left side of the fish must be facing up. Tail can be pinched or in a natural position. A deduction of .5” will be taken for an open mouth. ANY AMOUNT OF OPEN WILL BE A PENALTY. WE WILL NOT HAVE A PARTIAL RULE.
  • Ties of the 4-fish limit will be settled with the angler with largest bass finishing ahead. The large bass competition will split the pot in the event of a tie. The small bass pot will split the pot in the event of a tie. Small bass may begin measurement at the 8 inch line. An open mouth will add ½ inch in the small bass competition.
  • It is expected that you fish at least 100 yards away from another angler unless you have spoken to that angler. Please make your best effort to not cut anyone off. This is a courtesy rule.

^^^^ Cheating will result in a permanent ban from all future BHSKBF events. ^^^^

I started this club because I love to fish tournaments. The tournament directors will compete alongside all the anglers for money, prizes and AOY, etc. Our identifier numbers will be given at random from the other anglers, the morning of the tournament. We will not score our own fish. Our pictures will be available for all anglers to see. Tournament director (W. Dennis Ely) will have final say in judging pictures. Any concerns should be brought up prior to payout that day. This is a live document and can be updated as needed.


Disclaimer Click to Read

You must sign a liability waiver. Under 18 years of age, needs a parent’s signature or they will not be allowed to compete.